Netherlands face Ukraine in their opening Euro 2020 clash as the postponed tournament gets up and running.

Frank De Boer’s men take on Ukraine, Austria and North Macedonia and are expected to top Group C.

The Netherlands have performed well in recent months
AFP or licensors

De Boer will be keen to prove the naysayers wrong this summer, as many critics have suggested he isn’t the right man to Netherlands. 

The Flying Dutchman suffered embarrassment after failing to qualify for the 2018 World Cup, and will hope they can get back to their winning ways. 

With a wealth of young stars including Barcelona midfielder Frenkie de Jong and Juventus defender Matthijs de Ligt, they could be a dark horse in the competition. 

The nation will be hoping to add another Euro medal to their name, after winning one back in 1988.

Netherlands vs Ukraine: How to listen

This Group C match will take place at 8pm on Sunday, June 13.

Full coverage from Wembley will be live on talkSPORT, with our pre-match build-up starting at 6pm.

Dan Windle will be your host and commentary will come from Adam Bridge and Matt Holland.

To tune in, click the radio player below or HERE for the live stream.

Here are the other ways to listen…

App iPhone – Download from the Apple store

Android – Download from Google Play

Radio – talkSPORT is available across the United Kingdom via DAB digital radio and on 1089 or 1053 AM.

TV – Listen to talkSPORT through your TV on the following channels: Sky: Channel 0108 Virgin Media: Channel 927 Freeview: Channel 723 Freesat: Channel 731

The Netherlands will be without key man Virgil Van Dijk
Getty – Contributor

Netherlands vs Ukraine: Squads


Goalkeepers: Marco Bizot (AZ), Tim Krul (Norwich), Maarten Stekelenburg (Ajax)

Defenders: Nathan Aké (Manchester City), Daley Blind (Ajax), Matthijs de Ligt (Juventus), Stefan de Vrij (Inter Milan), Denzel Dumfries (PSV), Patrick van Aanholt (Crystal Palace), Joël Veltman (Brighton), Owen Wijndal (AZ)

Midfielders: Frenkie de Jong (Barcelona), Marten de Roon (Atalanta), Ryan Gravenberch (Ajax), Davy Klaassen (Ajax), Teun Koopmeiners (AZ), Quincy Promes (Spartak Moskva), Jurriën Timber (Ajax), Georginio Wijnaldum (Liverpool)

Forwards: Steven Berghuis (Feyenoord), Luuk de Jong (Sevilla), Memphis Depay (Lyon), Cody Gakpo (PSV), Donyell Malen (PSV Eindhoven), Wout Weghorst (Wolfsburg)


Goalkeepers: Georgiy Bushchan (Dynamo Kyiv), Andriy Pyatov (Shakhtar Donetsk), Anatolii Trubin (Shakhtar Donetsk)

Defenders: Oleksandr Karavaev (Dynamo Kyiv), Serhiy Kryvtsov (Shakhtar Donetsk), Mykola Matviyenko (Shakhtar Donetsk), Vitaliy Mykolenko (Dynamo Kyiv), Denys Popov (Dynamo Kyiv), Eduard Sobol (Club Brugge), Oleksandr Tymchyk (Dynamo Kyiv), Illia Zabarnyi (Dynamo Kyiv), Oleksandr Zinchenko (Manchester City)

Midfielders: Roman Bezus (Gent), Yevhen Makarenko (Kortrijk), Ruslan Malinovskyi (Atalanta), Marlos (Shakhtar Donetsk), Mykola Shaparenko (Dynamo Kyiv), Taras Stepanenko (Shakhtar Donetsk), Heorhii Sudakov (Shakhtar Donetsk), Serhiy Sydorchuk (Dynamo Kyiv), Viktor Tsygankov (Dynamo Kyiv)

Forwards: Artem Besedin (Dynamo Kyiv), Artem Dovbyk (Dnipro-1), Roman Yaremchuk (Gent), Andriy Yarmolenko (West Ham), Oleksandr Zubkov (Ferencváros)

SACKED! Crystal Palace axe Frank de Boer as manager after worst start in Premier League history
Frank de Boer has been polarizing since his appointment in 2020

Netherlands vs Ukraine: What’s been said?

Manager Frank De Boer spoke on his decision not to replace Manchester United midfielder Donny van de Beek who was recently ruled out due to injury.

He said: “To join the squad at this stage of our preparations is not exactly ideal

“We have been on the road for two weeks, and so I don’t like the idea of a new player arriving.”

The gaffer added: “I also have enough midfielders in my squad to absorb the blow. Of course, there can always be a situation where I change my mind, but at the moment I prefer to leave the squad as it is.

“It is always sad when a player has to drop out injured.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *